Sign up to receive our newsletter


Please select a language you want to receive our newsletter in:


    Who are the members?
    European Union: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, ...
< Back to FAQ Overview

Holland or the Netherlands ?

The Netherlands is often called Holland because of the role the two western provinces called North and South Holland have played in its history.

For the Netherlands Board of Tourism & Conventions (NBTC), 'Holland' is the promotional brand name under which the Kingdom of the Netherlands is promoted.