Sign up to receive our newsletter


Please select a language you want to receive our newsletter in:


Main image for section

Norway consists of the western and northern section of the Scandinavian peninsula, as well as the arctic island archipelago Svalbard plus Jan Mayen.


To the east of Norway lies Sweden, Finland and Russia. To the west, the North Sea and the Atlantic Ocean. To the north is the Barents Sea, to the south, the North Sea.

Including Svalbard and Jan Mayen, Norwegian territory covers 386,958 square kilometres. The mainland is long - 1752 km from the southern to the northernmost tip. The coastline itself is 2650 km long, if you were to include the length of all the fingers of the fjords it would be 10 times longer. The northern region of Norway is narrow, a mere 6.3 km at its narrowest. The country widens south of Trondheimsfjord and is 430 km at its widest. It is at this widest point that eastern and western Norway are divided by the mountain range called Langfjellene. Half of the country's total area lies above the timberline. 25% of the country is covered by forest, leaving only 3% arable land.

Norway is a constitutional monarchy. Its population is 4,524,000 (2002), giving a population density of 11.7 per km². The capital city of Oslo has 512 000 inhabitants.


comments powered by Disqus


The Carpathian Mountains form the largest mountain range in Europe.

Read more

Adriatic Coast

Warm Mediterranean hospitality will linger in your memories.

Read more


Who put the “Be” in Benelux? Belgium, the Netherlands, and Luxembourg!

Read more