Sign up to receive our newsletter


Please select a language you want to receive our newsletter in:


    Who are the members?
    European Union: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, ...

Main image for section

Capital: Oslo
Area: 323,877 km²
Population: 4552252
Language: Norwegian
Currency: Kroner (NOK)
Time Zone: GMT + 1 hour

Official site

Norway consists of the western and northern section of the Scandinavian peninsula, as well as the arctic island archipelago Svalbard plus Jan Mayen.


To the east of Norway lies Sweden, Finland and Russia. To the west, the North Sea and the Atlantic Ocean. To the north is the Barents Sea, to the south, the North Sea.

Including Svalbard and Jan Mayen, Norwegian territory covers 386,958 square kilometres. The mainland is long - 1752 km from the southern to the northernmost tip. The coastline itself is 2650 km long, if you were to include the length of all the fingers of the fjords it would be 10 times longer. The northern region of Norway is narrow, a mere 6.3 km at its narrowest. The country widens south of Trondheimsfjord and is 430 km at its widest. It is at this widest point that eastern and western Norway are divided by the mountain range called Langfjellene. Half of the country's total area lies above the timberline. 25% of the country is covered by forest, leaving only 3% arable land.

Norway is a constitutional monarchy. Its population is 4,524,000 (2002), giving a population density of 11.7 per km². The capital city of Oslo has 512 000 inhabitants.


comments powered by Disqus


Dramatic scenery, winter sports, the northern lights and the midnight sun, saunas, and reindeer.

Read more

Baltic States

Tourism is flourishing in the Baltic States of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania.

Read more

European Islands

Come along on our overview of the islands of no fewer than 18 European countries.

Read more