Sign up to receive our newsletter


Please select a language you want to receive our newsletter in:


    Who are the members?
    European Union: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, ...


Capital: Copenhagen
Area: 43,098 km²
Population: 5384000
Language: Danish
Currency: Krone (DKR)
Time Zone: GMT + 1 hours

Official site

Denmark is situated in Northern Europe between the North Sea and the Baltic, and is the only Scandinavian country connected to the European mainland. All in all, Denmark consists of 406 islands, yet only about 80 of these are inhabited.


The most densely populated part of Denmark is the main island, Zealand. The capital, Copenhagen, is situated at the far east of Zealand and the city itself counts about half a million inhabitants, while if including the suburbs the number reaches one million.

Having a well-developed welfare and health care system, the Danes tend to live longer than they did just decades ago. The average age is now just around 75 years for men and 79 years for women. Most people work until they are well into their sixties and Denmark is characterised by having a very little gap between those who are rich and those who are poor, placing most Danes in a large and thriving middle and upper-middle class.

Find out more about Danish culture and history in the Where to Go section, as well as Scandinavia Region.


comments powered by Disqus


The Carpathian Mountains form the largest mountain range in Europe.

Read more

Balkan Peninsula

The Balkan Peninsula forms the southeast part of Europe, a region where different cultures.

Read more

Baltic States

Tourism is flourishing in the Baltic States of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania.

Read more